Newsletter 2013-1

International Colloquium on Latin Linguistics

1. Thanks for the 17th colloquium

The members of the international Committee would like to renew their thanks to Paolo Poccetti and to his collaborators for a wonderful 17th Colloquium. Despite the weather, all the participants enjoyed the stimulating papers and the fruitful discussions, as much as the welcome party at the British school, the beautiful villa Mandragone, the gastronomic diner or the Musei Capitolini.

2. Make-up of the International Committee

C. Lehmann has announced that he was stepping down from the Committee after the Rome conference. P. Poccetti having been co-opted into the Committee, the current Committee is therefore the following :

Philip Baldi	Gualtiero Calboli
Michèle Fruyt	Benjamin Garcia-Hernandez
Gerd Haverling	Manfred Kienpointner
Caroline Kroon	Dominique Longrée
Paolo Poccetti	Hannah Rosén

Following H. Pinkster's suggestions at the opening of the Rome colloquium, an executive committee was established by the international Committee. This new executive board is made up of D. Longrée (chair), M. Kienpointner, and G. Haverling. This executive committee is charged with developing the website, codifying procedures for the Bolkestein prize, and in general establishing a firm set of guidelines to insure a healthy future for the colloquia.

3. Machtelt Bolkestein Award

The Machtelt Bolkestein prize, which was announced to the entire colloquium on Friday evening, was awarded to Eugenio Goria by Paolo, with a Latin certificate. Chiara Fedriani received an "Honorable Mention" from the committee.

4. Next colloquia

On Friday evening, an announcement was made of the future colloquia up through 2019: - the 18th ICLL-2015 will be organized in Toulouse (Olga Spevak);

- the 19th ICLL-2017 will be probably organized in Munich (joined organization of TLL and both Amsterdam universities, Vu and UvA);
- the 20th ICLL-2019 will be organized in Spain (place to be determined).

5. Website

Further information about the Colloquia and the Machtelt Bolkestein Award will be found on the multilingual official Website of the ICLL (http://www.cipl.ulg.ac.be/cill/)

6. Remarks and suggestions

The participants are kindly invited to send to the executive board's chair (dominique.longree@ulg.ac.be) their suggestions and remarks regarding the general organization of the colloquia.